Which Universities are in KwaZulu-Natal?

Looking for where to study? KwaZulu-Natal has various Universities which offer a high-quality education and many resources to assist students on their academic, and even social, journey. Here is a list of the Universities in KwaZulu-Natal.

Universities in KwaZulu-Natal.


Brief Information About KwaZulu-Natal

There is no doubt KwaZulu-Natal is home to some of the best Universities in South Africa. They have a good education and are surrounded by an exquisite environment for their studies. 


Should you be coming from another province or country, these institutions will offer you a home away from home with many residence options available both on and off campus and lots of fellow students waiting to welcome you to the province. 

1. University of KwaZulu-Natal

The University of KwaZulu-Natal, usually known as UKZN, is a university in South Africa’s KwaZulu-Natal province with five campuses.

Following the union of the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville, they established it on January 1st, 2004. Edgewood, Howard College, Medical School, Pietermaritzburg, and Westville Campus are the five campuses.

2. Durban University of Technology 

 Durban Institution of Technology was founded in 2003. Usually known as DUT, it is a technical university that provides a wide range of departments and short courses. It has two campuses in Pietermaritzburg and five in Durban. 

Durban is home to the Brickfield, ML Sultan, Ritson, Steve Biko, and City Campuses. The Riverside and Indumiso Campuses are in Pietermaritzburg. On the African continent, the University is one of only five technical institutes that grant doctoral degrees.


3. The University of Zululand

The University of Zululand, often known as UNIZULU, is in KwaZulu-Natal, immediately south of Empangeni and north of the Thukela River.

In line with the government’s vocational approach to higher education, UNIZULU offers a mixture of university courses and programs that are career-focused, concurrently addressing the requirements of industrial stakeholders and the rural population.

In this manner, the institution integrates the demands of “alternative” and “entrepreneurial” education.

4. Mangosuthu University of Technology

On the outskirts of Durban, close to Umlazi, is the Mangosuthu University of Technology, originally known as Mangosuthu Technikon. 

MUT, a university that teaches in the Zulu language, gives students career-oriented skills by combining classroom instruction with real-world work experience. 

They accomplish this by working closely with businesses and industries to ensure that the curriculum for a certain qualification is related to the field of study and market-related. The programs include theoretical study and in-service training.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *